April 10, 2014

I usually reserve quotes to my quote page but I think this one is just too important to silently add. I want to scream this from the rooftops, I want the world to not only hear this quote, but listen to it. Marina Keegan was killed in a car accident just 5 days after graduating from Yale University with a full life ahead of her. She left behind beautiful bodies of work for the world to remember her and honor her by. This is one of the most magical and beautiful things she could have left us.

“What we have to remember is that we can still do anything. We can change our minds,” she writes in the book’s titular essay. “We can start over. Get a post-bac or try writing for the first time. The notion that it’s too late to do anything is comical. It’s hilarious. We’re graduating from college. We’re so young. We can’t, we MUST not lose this sense of possibility because in the end, it’s all we have.” –Marina Keegan

We need to remember that life is short. Our souls know how much time we have left here on this earth but we as physical beings do not. Everything is timed how it is supposed to be whether it makes sense to us or not. Please do not hesitate to do what you love. Please do not listen to the judgement of others. Please do beautiful things with your life because that’s what you are. Stay beautiful my babes, stay beautiful. 

 

**On a side note, I will be finally able to meet one of my biggest inspirations Gabrielle Bernstein tonight in Norwalk, CT. I will have lots of posts following her presentation I’m sure! Check back for an update this weekend! 

Leave a comment